Central Intelligence

Biggie & Smalls

I’ve spent much of my life being more of a chubby little porker than I needed to be and in fact it’s only been this year that I have been taking my eating habits seriously.

I consider myself to be a 20 stone, alcoholic, cake addict that’s waiting to eat himself free of the shackles that binds me to a normal life!

You wouldn’t know from talking to me but I am shy and lacking in self confidence yet like Bob Stone (Dwayne “the Rock” Johnson) in Central Intelligence I put on a show to hide all that.

Central Intelligence is full of brief but often poignant moments that show either writer Ike Barinholtz or director Rawson Marshall Thurber faced similar issues because they are too honest to be solely for comic effect.

Thankfully moments such as the Rock glancing into a mirror and seeing his younger, fatter, self also serve as comic effect. Seeing the Rock with jiggly bits is as funny (and disturbing) as seeing Belgium Blue breeds of muscular cows.

But these subtle nods to psychological issues isn’t what the film is about; it’s all about the chemistry between Bob and Calvin Joyner (Kevin Hart) and let’s face it that’s a winning formula.

You can expect Hart to inject his normal brand of humour whilst the Rock plays an overly energetic and playful yet naïve adonis and in this respect is much more willing to play the fool.

This almost works but the Rock just seems a little unnatural in the role to fully pull it off.

Weirdly – considering the film stars a wrestler – the action scenes are remarkably bad and is only slightly more exhilarating than slowly crying yourself to sleep.

But like I said, it’s all about chemistry and given that Central Intelligence stars Kevin Hart and Dwayne Johnson that alone makes it worth a watch in my book even if it isn’t quite the plus sized comedy you were hoping for.

The Good, The Bad and The Outcome:

+ Great chimstry
+ Overall a good fun film
+ Tries to deliver more than just a comedy

– Could have been funnier
– The Rock doesn’t quite nail it
– Pretty awful action scenes

Stars_3_5

Leave a Reply

